Random, Uncategorized

The Shadow of the Wind

I began this book 2 days ago on a whim (to join a discussion group at school) and I have not been able to put it down. Beyond that, it has led me on quite a journey. Literally, in the sense that the book is exquisitely written, but figuratively in the fact that I feel like I am part of the story as it unfolds. From the beginning, I was in love. It reminds me of how much I truly love books and the soul that each and every one contains. Books have always been my obsession and I have decided to give in.  Zafon does a terrific job in reminding the reader how each book that has ever been and will ever be written contains the soul of not only the author, but every person who has read it, breathed it or lived it. As I read that, I realized that this book has now become part of my soul as well. As I let that realization wash over me, the most amazing thing began to occur. I was filled with an incomparable  joy. This joy began to spill over into every area that I was currently living and was followed by an amazing conversation with a gentleman on the bus and a poetry reading from Nora Pollard that left me in awe. This  book has been the best thing that has ever happened to me simply because it caused me to wake up to the love I have neglected for quite some time. I thank Carlos Ruiz Zafron from the bottom of my little heart for because of his genius, I will never be the same.

Standard

2 thoughts on “The Shadow of the Wind

  1. It’s an amazing, horrific, beautiful and shocking book. I loved it. I was so disappointed in the follow up, The Angel’s Game. I wanted to give Zafon a slap for following up Shadow of The Wind with that piece of rubbish.

    • ticina says:

      I am devouring this book as fast as humanly possible. Although, while in this state of teenage flutter love, I find it hard to imagine that his follow up would be anything less than amazing. I am grateful to have to stumbled across your blog for I now have plenty of material to follow up this fantastic read with 🙂 Take care!

Leave a Reply

